There is a difference between Search Engine Optimization and Search Engine Marketing. The basic difference is you pay for SEM, and you don’t have pay for SEO….

According to Wikipedia, Search Engine Optimization is the process of improving the volume or quality of traffic results. Typically, the higher a site appears in search results, the more visitors it will receive from a search engine. Optimizing a website usually involves editing its content, HTML and associated coding to both increase relevance to keywords and to remove barriers to the indexing activities of search engines.

Search Engine Marketing is a form of Internet marketing that seeks to promote websites by increasing their visibility in search engine results pages though SEO, paid placement, contextual advertising and paid inclusion, according to Wikipedia.

Both SEO and SEM are important strategies to execute on your website to increase the number of page views and visitors to your site. As I get further into the whole blog experience, I learn more and more each day on how to improve the traffic coming to my site. Over the last month, I have changed the theme of my site, improving the overall look. I’ve also included tags, categories and excerpts to each post that should help in generating page views. But there are a ton of SEO tactics to add to my blog that would help!

After doing some research, I found the following SEO tactics that I can add to my WordPress blog to improve traffic. They include:

1) I need to start adding keyword and description tags to blog posts. Right now, I’m adding tags to each of my blogs but not description tags. These would provide meaningful snippets in research engine pages.

2) Hopefully at some point, I’ll have a lot of traffic coming to this blog. It could happen over time or unexpectedly, so I’m going to install a caching plugin to make sure that my blog continues to run smoothly.

3) I’m also going to add a ‘subscribe to comments’ plugin. When someone leaves a comment on my blog, this would allow them to choose to be alerted via email when someone else leaves a comment on that particular post.

4) Right now, my posts are archived by date. I don’t think that people will come to my blog and browse my posts by date, so I’m going to create an archive page by post rather than by date.

5) Once more people comment on my blog posts, I’m going to highlight recent comment activity which will hopefully create an ongoing conversation to my blog posts. This should ultimately attract more viewers to my blog.

I believe that learning more about SEO and SEM is critical for all social media marketers. By executing a consistent SEO strategy for getting people to come to our sites, we can truly have an impact on increasing our site traffic!

Leave a Reply

